6GEM

6G research hub for open, efficient and secure mobile communications systems


Want to contribute ?

News

OUR VISION

With their application "6GEM open - efficient - secure - safe", the RWTH Aachen University, the Ruhr-University Bochum, the Dortmund University of Technology and the University of Duisburg-Essen were successful in a call for proposals issued by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). The four universities will work together with four non-university research institutions on future communication technologies in 6G mobile communications from August 1, 2021. Co-applicants were the Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics, the Fraunhofer Institute for Microelectronic Circuits and Systems, the Fraunhofer Institute for High Frequency Physics and Radar Technology and the Max Planck Institute for Security and Privacy.

The 6GEM consortium combines scientific excellence and mobile communications expertise at the network, material, component/microchip and module levels in North Rhine-Westphalia. Experience in their implementation and worldwide networking is also available. A holistic approach is being pursued, from production and logistics to people with their needs for self-determination, privacy and security in times of climate change.

OUR GOALS

The added value of future 6G systems for socially and industrially highly relevant use cases will be demonstrated. For this purpose, seven test sites will be integrated and equipped with 6G systems: A digital operating room at the University of Düsseldorf, a smart hospital at the University Hospital Essen, the German Rescue Robotics Center in Dortmund, the high-speed intralogistics of the Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics in Dortmund, the highly automated production environments of the Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology in Aachen, a large-scale port logistics in Duisburg, and road traffic scenarios from the city center to the highway in Aldenhoven. The results of the scientific work are expected to generate patents on a large scale.

PARTNER

RWTH
Aachen

Coordinator
Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Contact
Technische Universität Dortmund

Contact
Universität
Duisburg-Essen
 

Contact
Friedrich-Alexander-Universität
Erlangen-Nürnberg

Contact
Technische Universität Ilmenau
 

Contact
Fraunhofer-Institut für Hochfrequenzphysik und Radartechnik
Fraunhofer-Institut für Mikroelektronische Schaltungen und Systeme
Fraunhofer-Institut für Materialfluss und Logistik
Max-Planck-Institut für Sicherheit und Privatsphäre

6GEM

6G Forschungshub für offene, effiziente und sichere Mobilfunksysteme


Interessiert ?

News

UNSERE VISION

Mit ihrem Antrag „6GEM open – efficient – secure – safe“ konnten sich die RWTH Aachen, die Ruhr-Universität Bochum, die Technische Universität Dortmund und die Universität Duisburg-Essen in einer Ausschreibung des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) durchsetzen. Die vier Hochschulen arbeiten ab 1. August 2021 gemeinsam mit vier außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen zu zukünftigen Kommunikationstechnologien in der 6G-Mobilfunktechnik. Mitantragsteller waren das Fraunhofer-Institut für Materialfluss und Logistik, das Fraunhofer-Institut für Mikroelektronische Schaltungen und Systeme, das Fraunhofer-Institut für Hochfrequenzphysik und Radartechnik sowie das Max-Planck-Institut für Sicherheit und Privatsphäre.

Das 6GEM-Konsortium vereint in Nordrhein-Westfalen wissenschaftliche Exzellenz und Mobilfunkexpertise auf Netzwerk-, Material-, Komponenten-/Mikrochip- und Modulebene. Auch Erfahrungen in deren Umsetzung und weltweite Vernetzung sind vorhanden. Verfolgt wird ein ganzheitlicher Ansatz von der Produktion über die Logistik bis hin zum Menschen mit seinen Bedürfnissen nach Selbstbestimmung, Privatsphäre und Sicherheit in Zeiten des Klimawandels.

UNSERE ZIELE

Der Mehrwert zukünftiger 6G-Systeme für gesellschaftlich und industriell hoch relevante Einsatzfälle soll gezeigt werden. Zu diesem Zweck werden sieben Testfelder eingebunden und mit 6G-Systemen ausgerüstet: Ein digitaler Operationssaal der Uni Düsseldorf, ein Smart Hospital der Uniklinik Essen, das Deutsche Rettungsrobotik-Zentrum in Dortmund, die Hochgeschwindigkeits-Intralogistik des Fraunhofer-Institut für Materialfluss und Logistik in Dortmund, die hochautomatisierten Produktionsumgebungen des Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnologie in Aachen, eine großräumige Hafenlogistik in Duisburg sowie Straßenverkehrsszenarien von der Innenstadt bis zur Autobahn in Aldenhoven. Die Ergebnisse der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit sollen in großem Umfang Patente generieren.

PARTNER

RWTH
Aachen

Coordinator
Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Contact
Technische Universität Dortmund

Contact
Universität
Duisburg-Essen
 

Contact
Friedrich-Alexander-Universität
Erlangen-Nürnberg

Contact
Technische Universität Ilmenau
 

Contact
Fraunhofer-Institut für Hochfrequenzphysik und Radartechnik
Fraunhofer-Institut für Mikroelektronische Schaltungen und Systeme
Fraunhofer-Institut für Materialfluss und Logistik
Max-Planck-Institut für Sicherheit und Privatsphäre